Pi Kappa Phi members honored at inaugural scholarship banquet

DJ Klucznik, a senior biology major; Collin McKnight, a sophomore nursing major; Chad Hancock, a senior accounting major; and Adam Upshaw, a senior psychology major were named the inaugural recipients of the David D. Morgan ‘Extra Mile’ Scholarship program.

These student leaders were selected for their commitment to excellence in academics, leadership, service, and employment. More than $2,500 in scholarships were awarded at the banquet, held at Merci Beaucoup Restaurant in Natchitoches.

Alumnus David Morgan established the scholarship to recognize undergraduate members for going the extra mile during college. He attributes much of his personal success to involvement with the Fraternity and other organizations while attending Northwestern State University.

“At one point you got into Pi Kappa Phi. Now let Pi Kapp get into you,” he said. Morgan hopes the scholarship will encourage members to aim for greatness within the chapter.

DJ Klucznik was selected for his involvement on campus, holding a part-time job, and a 3.9 GPA.

“Going in, I thought Pi Kappa Phi would be just another organization I would be a member of, but little did I know it would help shape me into the man I am today,” he said.

Dozens of chapter alumni, active brothers, and representatives from Northwestern State University were in attendance for the dinner. Special guests included: Jack McCain, founding Archon; Wes Breeden, refounding Archon; Thomas Atwood, Pi Kappa Phi Foundation Executive Director; Dr. Randall Webb, NSU President; Robert Crew, alumnus and Executive Assistant to the President; Dr. Chris Maggio, NSU Dean of Students; Jerry Pierce, NSU Vice President for External Affairs; Reatha Cox, NSU Director of New Student Programs; Dr. Michael Land, alumnus and NSU Associate Professor, Jodi Biscoe, alumnus and NSU Assistant Professor, and Doug Ireland, alumnus and NSU Sports Information Director.

Other guests in attendance included alumni Shawn Daily, George Etheredge, Robert Broadwell, and Dr. Bill Morrison.

The scholarship will be awarded every semester.

For information on how to apply for the ‘Extra Mile’ scholarship, click this link.

To view pictures from this event, click this link.