Pi Kappa Phi member elected NSU student body president

Pi Kappa Phi member elected NSU student body presidentContinuing a long tradition of campus leadership for the Beta Omicron chapter of Pi Kappa Phi, Cody Bourque, a Fall 2006 initiate, was chosen as Northwestern State University’s Student Government Association President for the 2008-2009 academic year.

Bourque’s presidency will mark the twelfth time a student body president has been affiliated with Pi Kappa Phi or Phi Kappa Nu since the SGA’s founding in 1927.

Van Odom, a member of Phi Kappa Nu, the local fraternity predecessor to Pi Kappa Phi at Northwestern State, became president in 1935.

“I know that the leadership skills I’ve gained through Pi Kapp will help me better serve the student body of NSU,” Bourque said of the influence Pi Kappa Phi will have on his administration.

The influence of the Fraternity can certainly be felt on campus, as seven Pi Kapps currently serve on the SGA, refuting Beta Omicron’s status as the leading chapter at NSU. Bourque will succeed 2007-2008 SGA President Shayne Creppel, a member of the Spring 2008 associate class of Pi Kappa Phi.