Chapter leaders celebrated, Rose Court announced at Beta Omicron’s Rose Ball formal

Coming off the heels of a successful Spring semester, members of the Beta Omicron Chapter of Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity at NSU and their dates spent an evening in style at the chapter’s annual Rose Ball formal.

Held April 29, 2018 at Cypress Bend Resort in far western Louisiana, the hotel, conference center, golf course and spa overlook the pristine Toledo Bend Lake. The evening, themed ‘The Enchanted Rose,’ began with welcoming remarks from student chapter Archon David Johnson.

Following a catered meal, several members were honored for their dedication in the last year. The chapter’s ‘Mister Pi Kappa Phi’ award was given to Thomas Marlbrough for best exemplifying the values of the Fraternity. David Johnson was named ‘Active Member of the Year,’ while Char Wilson received ‘Associate Member of the Year.’ Johnson was also recognized for his dedication to chapter leadership with the Kroeg Award. Jacob Guidry received the Mixson Award for excellence in campus involvement. The Fogarty Award for dedication to academic achievement also went to Wilson.

Each year the Beta Omicron Chapter selects the fraternity sweetheart, known as the Rose Queen. This honorary title is bestowed upon one woman who embodies class, character, and elegance. Sara D’Aquilla was crowned the 2018 Beta Omicron chapter Rose Queen. Others named to the court include: Haley Jorgensen, Shania Worfel, Sara Vineyard, Jenna Cornett. D’Aquilla was presented with a bouquet of red roses, the official flower of the fraternity, while members and alumni performed the traditional serenade, ‘The Rose of Pi Kappa Phi.’

The Beta Omicron Chapter Distinguished Alumnus Award is given each year to an individual for their personal achievement, outstanding service to the Fraternity and community, involvement in the life of the university, and serving as a model for lifelong brotherhood. The 2018 ‘Alumnus of the Year’ is Dean Lemoine, who serves as a role model and living symbol of friendship, service, character, and brotherhood.

Members awarded the Durward Owen Interfraternity Award to Christopher Gilson, and assistant professor in NSU’s Department of Criminal Justice, History and Social Sciences. Named after Pi Kappa Phi’s long-time executive director and honorary fourth founding father, the honor is bestowed upon a non-member of the fraternity for exceptionally meritorious service in the Greek community.

What are your thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s