Six recognized for going ‘Extra Mile’ in studies at NSU

Six recognized for going the “Extra Mile” at NSU (2011)On Saturday, March 19, 2011; Jon Lee, Kyle Duhon, Chase Harvey, Scott Mayeaux, Tyler Stahl and Ryan Jeffords were named the Spring 2011 recipients of the David D. Morgan ‘Extra Mile’ Scholarship.

The students were selected for excellence in academics, campus and chapter leadership, service, and employment. Over $2,000 in scholarships were awarded at the banquet, held at Lasyone’s Meatpie Restaurant in Natchitoches.

The Morgan “Extra Mile” Scholarship Program is funded by and named for Beta Omicron alumnus David D. Morgan. An entrepreneur, an insurance executive, and a leader within his industry and his fraternity, Morgan has spent a considerable portion of his life helping others to be successful.

Whether through the offering of insurance products to association members across the country that help provide a greater peace of mind, or through his volunteer work with several Pi Kappa Phi chapters, Brother Morgan’s commitment to helping people (especially his Pi Kappa Phi brothers) is a trademark of his personality. Instilling the lessons he learned growing up in Louisiana – lessons of hard work, industriousness, and self-determination – into the heart of this new initiative, the Pi Kappa Phi Foundation created the scholarship program in 2008.

The Morgan “Extra Mile” Scholarship Program seeks to recognize academic performance while encouraging active and sustained involvement in NSU all while remaining active in the affairs and operation of the Beta Omicron Chapter. These six honorees have exhibited their commitment to striving for excellence and are worthy recipients.

To solidify the mission of the scholarship, keynote speaker Richard Hughbank, a professor of Criminal Justice, shared his thoughts on how anyone can achieve their fullest potential. He detailed his experiences in the military and the best methods to share leadership with others.

Hughbank shared this quote to summarize his message, “Who we are might be predetermined, but the path we follow is always of our own choosing. We should allow our fears or the expectations of others to set the frontiers of our destiny.” He went on to explain that what we do with those fears define our character.

Hughbank encouraged members to make the most of their college experience and challenged them to follow the Fraternity’s mission by choosing to lead.

Lane Luckie was also named alumnus of the year. Currently vice president of the Beta Omicron Alumni Association/ Housing Corporation, Luckie has served as an alumni advisor since 2008. He is actively involved with the student chapter and serves the national Fraternity as a volunteer facilitator for alcohol education and risk management programs, a faculty member for Mid Year Leadership Conference, and is the chapter advisor for the Stephen F. Austin Associate Chapter. Luckie said he is very moved by the award.

“It’s a great honor, but I feel like the true reward is getting to spend time with brothers who understand the concept of lifelong brotherhood. It makes me very proud to see the student members carrying on the legacy of hundreds of NSU Beta Omicrons.”

Dozens of chapter alumni, active brothers, and representatives from Northwestern State University were in attendance for the dinner.

Special guests included: Dr. Chris Maggio, Dean of Students; Robert Crew, alumnus and Executive Assistant to the President; Mr. Bradley Dale Peveto, NSU Head Football Coach; Mr. Shawn Daily, alumnus and former Chapter Advisor; Dr. Michael Land, alumnus, Chapter Academic Coach and NSU Associate Professor; Doug Ireland, alumnus, Beta Omicron Chapter Advisor, and NSU Sports Information Director; Mr. Lane Luckie, alumnus and Beta Omicron Housing Corporation Vice President;  and Mr. Kie Boyett, Beta Omicron Housing Corporation director of alumni events.

For information on how to apply for the ‘Extra Mile’ scholarship, click here.