Successful Spring semester celebrated at Beta Omicron’s Rose Ball formal

An exceptionally successful Spring semester was reason enough for a celebration for Pi Kappa Phi at Northwestern State University! On Saturday, April 29, 2017, the Beta Omicron Chapter invited students, alumni and their dates to spend an evening in style at the chapter’s annual Rose Ball formal.

Held at The Landing Restaurant, overlooking the red brick streets of the Natchitoches Historic District, the evening began with welcoming remarks from student chapter Archon Thomas Marlbrough.

Following the meal, several members were honored for their dedication in the last year. The chapter’s ‘Mister Pi Kappa Phi’ award was given to Manton Capers for best exemplifying the values of the Fraternity. Dedrick Lewis was named ‘Active Member of the Year,’ while Jacob Guidry received ‘Associate Member of the Year.’ Thomas Marlbrough was recognized for his dedication to chapter leadership with the Kroeg Award. Noah Baudoin received the Mixson Award for excellence in campus involvement. The Fogarty Award for dedication to academic achievement went to Tyler Thomas.

Each year the Beta Omicron Chapter selects the fraternity sweetheart, known as the Rose Queen. This honorary title is bestowed upon one woman who embodies class, character, and elegance. Kayla Ryan was crowned the 2017 Beta Omicron chapter Rose Queen by last year’s sweetheart Candace Morvant. Others named to the court include: Jenna Cornett, Emily Benoit, Sara D’Aquilla, and Haley Jorgensen. Ryan was presented with a bouquet of red roses, the official flower of the fraternity, while members and alumni performed the traditional serenade, ‘The Rose of Pi Kappa Phi.’

The Beta Omicron Chapter Distinguished Alumnus Award is given each year to an individual for their personal achievement, outstanding service to the Fraternity and community, involvement in the life of the university, and serving as a model for lifelong brotherhood. The 2017 ‘Alumnus of the Year’ is Dr. Christopher Lyles, who serves as a role model and living symbol of friendship, service, character, and brotherhood. Lyles is a 2001 initiate of the Beta Omicron Chapter and works at NSU as a professor in the Microbiology department. His wife Laura is a former Beta Omicron Chapter rose queen. Earlier this year, he joined Doug Ireland as a chapter advisor for Beta Omicron.

Members awarded the Durward Owen Interfraternity Award to acting NSU President Dr. Chris Maggio. Named after Pi Kappa Phi’s long-time executive director and honorary fourth founding father the honor is bestowed upon a non-member of the fraternity for exceptionally meritorious service in the Greek community.

Click here for more pictures from the event.

What are your thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s