NSU Pi Kapps celebrate year’s successes, new Rose Court at annual formal

Members of the Beta Omicron Chapter of Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity at NSU and their dates celebrated the accomplishments of the chapter and individuals at the annual Rose Ball formal, a long-cherished tradition of the fraternity.

Held April 27, 2019 at the Cabins at Horseshoe Hills in Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana, the evening began with welcoming remarks from student chapter Archon Nicholas Olivares.

Following a catered meal, several members were honored for their dedication in the last year. The chapter’s ‘Mister Pi Kappa Phi’ award was given to Eriq Carver for best exemplifying the values of the Fraternity. Derek Henry was named ‘Active Member of the Year,’ while Aron Stephens received ‘Associate Member of the Year.’ Olivares was recognized for his dedication to chapter leadership with the Kroeg Award. Char Wilson received the Mixson Award for excellence in campus involvement. The Fogarty Award for dedication to academic achievement went to Daniel Larin.

Each year the Beta Omicron Chapter selects the fraternity sweetheart, known as the Rose Queen. This honorary title is bestowed upon one woman who embodies class, character, and elegance. Josie Stamey was crowned the 2019 Beta Omicron chapter Rose Queen. Others named to the court include: Tiffany Trahan, Gabby Perkings, Madeline Sheets, and Tommi Long. Stamey was presented with a bouquet of red roses, the official flower of the fraternity, while members and alumni performed the traditional serenade, ‘The Rose of Pi Kappa Phi.’

The Beta Omicron Chapter Distinguished Alumnus Award is given each year to an individual for their personal achievement, outstanding service to the Fraternity and community, involvement in the life of the university, and serving as a model for lifelong brotherhood. The 2019 ‘Alumnus of the Year’ is Dr. Chris Lyles, who serves as assistant chapter advisor for the Beta Omicron Chapter.

Members awarded the Durward Owen Interfraternity Award to Reatha Cox, NSU’s Director of Student Affairs. Cox is advisor to NSU’s chapter of Sigma Sigma Sigma Sorority and was Greek Advisor at the time of the Beta Omicron Chapter’s rechartering process in 1999-2000. She has been a long-time friend and advisory to the fraternity. Named after Pi Kappa Phi’s long-time executive director and honorary fourth founding father, this honor is bestowed upon a non-member of the fraternity for exceptionally meritorious service in the Greek community.

What are your thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s