NSU Pi Kapp leaders earn thousands of dollars in scholarships

NSU Pi Kapp leaders earn thousands of dollars in scholarships (2010)Seven members of Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity were honored for their commitment to leadership at the third annual Beta Omicron Chapter ‘Extra Mile’ Scholarship banquet on Tuesday, April 13th, 2010.

Students Chris Alley, Kyle Duhon, Chase Harvey, Jon Lee, Charles Messick, Marcos Silverio, and Nathan Willison were named the Spring 2010 recipients of the David D. Morgan ‘Extra Mile’ Scholarship.

The recipients were selected for excellence in academics, campus and chapter leadership, service, and employment. Over $2,000 in scholarships were awarded at the banquet, held at Lasyone’s Meatpie Kitchen in Natchitoches.

The “Extra Mile” Scholarship Program is funded by David D. Morgan, an alumnus of Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity and 1973 graduate of NSU. Brother Morgan’s commitment to Pi Kappa Phi and his community has been marked with success. Taking lessons he’s learned through Pi Kappa Phi and a career as a driven entrepreneur and committed volunteer, Morgan wants to help others find the same lessons that helped him cultivate a rich and rewarding life.

Quoting entrepreneur Zig Ziglar, Morgan said, “The difference between ordinary and extraordinary is that little extra effort.” Morgan said he hopes the scholarship will encourage members to aim for greatness within the chapter. The scholarship will be awarded every semester.

Northwestern State head basketball coach, Mike McConathy, delivered the keynote address. He reflected on leading the Demons to two NCAA Tournament appearances and his coaching strategies. McConathy outlined how passion and believing in yourself drives success. He encouraged members to make a difference in their chapter and their university, challenging them to live up to Pi Kappa Phi’s mission: “We will lead.” McConathy added, “Are you going to get in the game, or are you going to sit on the sidelines and watch?”

Members of the Beta Omicron Chapter also recognized Dr. Mike Land for his unparalleled devotion to the chapter, naming him “Alumnus of the Year.” support and guidance of the chapter since its rechartering in 2000 and presented him with a special gift. Beta Omicron Archon, Jon Lee recounted the chapter’s successes in the past year and gave an outline of upcoming efforts.

Dozens of chapter alumni, active brothers, and representatives from Northwestern State University were in attendance for the dinner. Special guests included: Dr. Lisa Abney, Provost & Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs; Dr. Chris Maggio, Dean of Students; Dr. Jerry Wall, Dean of the College of Business; Robert Crew, alumnus and Executive Assistant to the President;  Mr. Greg Burke, NSU Athletic Director; Mr. Bradley Dale Peveto, Head Football Coach; Mr. Shawn Daily, alumnus, and Chapter Financial Advisor; Dr. Michael Land, alumnus, Chapter Academic Coach and NSU Associate Professor; Mr. Dion Boyett, alumnus, and Director of the NSU Small Business Development Center; and Doug Ireland, alumnus, Beta Omicron Chapter Advisor and NSU Sports Information Director.

For information on how to apply for the ‘Extra Mile’ scholarship, click this link.